Wellington leaders sign open letter telling protestors to leave “immediately.”

Chris Lynch
Chris Lynch
Feb 17, 2022 |

Wellington leaders have signed an open letter telling the protestors to leave.

It reads “ we the undersigned ask that the current illegal protest activities in and around the Parliament precinct end immediately. There is a right to peaceful protest in New Zealand that it is important to uphold. However this protest has gone well beyond that point.”  

“Those who live, work and go to school and university have been subjected to significant levels of abuse and harassment when attempting to move about in the area. There has been intimidation to Wellingtonians and city workers, and some residents have reported being too frightened or distressed to leave their homes.”

The letter said “the vehicles associated with the protest are illegally blocking roads that are preventing Wellingtonians moving freely, including using public transport, posing a risk to the movement of emergency services, and are severely disrupting businesses. A number of businesses have had to close to protect their staff, while for others customers cannot access these businesses. The University has needed to close its Pipitea campus disrupting teaching and learning.”

“Police have issued trespass notices for those on Parliamentary and University grounds. We remind the protestors this city and these streets are those of Wellingtonians who have the right to access them freely and without fear.”

“The people of Wellington have had enough of this illegal activity, harassment and disruption, we ask that it end immediately.”

The letter is signed by:

Alex Beijen – South Wairarapa Mayor

Andy Foster – Wellington City Mayor 

Anita Baker – Porirua City Mayor

Barbara McKerrow – Wellington City Council CEO 

Bernadette Murfitt – Principal Sacred Heart School Thorndon

Campbell Barry – Hutt City Mayor

Daran Ponter – on behalf of Metlink

Fleur Fitzsimons – Wellington City Councillor 

Grant Guildford – Vice-Chancellor Victoria University of Wellington

Grant Robertson – MP for Wellington Central

Greg Lang – Carterton District Mayor

James Shaw – Green List MP based in Wellington

Jenny Condie – Wellington City Councillor 

John Allen – CEO Wellington NZ

Julia Davidson – Principal Wellington Girls College 

K. Gurunathan – Kapiti District Mayor

Kerry Davies – Secretary of Public Service Association 

Laurie Foon – Wellington City Councillor 

Lyn Patterson – Masterton District Mayor

Murray Edridge – Wellington City Missioner

Nicola Young – Wellington City Councillor 

Paul Retimanu –Director of Manaaki Management and President of Hospitality Wellington New Zealand 

Rebecca Matthews – Wellington City Councillor 

Sarah Free – Wellington City Deputy Mayor 

Simon Arcus – Wellington Chamber of Commerce CEO 

Tamatha Paul – Wellington City Councillor 

Teri O’Neill – Wellington City Councillor 

Wayne Guppy – Upper Hutt City Mayor

Chris Lynch
Chris Lynch

Chris Lynch is a journalist, videographer and content producer, broadcasting from his independent news and production company in Christchurch, New Zealand. If you have a news tip or are interested in video content, email [email protected]

Have you got a news tip? Get in touch here

got a news tip?